Third Alumni Workshop Session of the International Forum of Young Scholars of Russian and East European Jewry, Jerusalem

Beit Mayersdorf, Mount Scopus, seminar venueOn June 3-4, 2012 a third workshop for alumni of the International Forum for Young Researchers of Russian and East European Jewry was held at the Hebrew University Campus in Jerusalem.

The Forum is an ongoing program coordinated by the Nevzlin Center (in collaboration with the Dubnow Institute at Leipzig University). An international "call" is announced once bi-annually for an alumni session of the Forum for Young Researchers (the most recent of these meetings took place in June 2011 in Lviv). This sort of 2-day alumni workshop wDuring the workshopas held in the summers of 2008 and 2010. This summer, seventeen young academics from Israel, the USA, Poland, the UK, Hungary and Ukraine took part in the workshop. This year's program included a session on East European Jewish Studies in post-communist space, presentations of ongoing research by several of the participants, a workshop on post-doc opportunities, a “job talk” workshop, and a discussion of the challenges of balancing academic careers and family issues. A significant component of the workshop was devolted to individual advisory sessions with leading researchers of East European Jewry: Prof. Zvi Gitelman (Michigan State University), Prof. David Engel (State University of New York) and Prof. Eli Lederhendler (Hebrew University).



Senior participants and staff:


Prof. David Engel, New York University

Prof. Zvi Gitelman, University of Michigan

Prof. Eli Lederhendler, Hebrew University

Dr. Jonathan Dekel Chen, Hebrew University

Dr. Semion Goldin, Hebrew University


Alumni participants:

  1. Eugene M. Avrutin (University of Illinois)

  2. Cornelia Aust (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

  3. Maria Ciesla (Polish Academy of Science)

  4. Sofiya Grachova (Harvard University)

  5. Tomasz Jankowski (Wroclaw University) 

  6. Daniel Mahla (Columbia University)

  7. Michael Miller (Central European University)

  8. Vladyslava Moskalets (Ukrainian Catholic University)

  9. Yuri Radchenko (Charkiw National Karazin University)

  10.  Domenika Rank (Ukrainian Catholic University)

  11.  Jörg Schulte (University College London)

  12.  Boris Tarnopolsky (University of Haifa)

  13.  Alex Valdman (Ben Gurion University of the Negev)

  14.  Anat Vaturi (Tel Aviv University)

  15.  Oleg Zhidkov (Ben Gurion University of the Negev)

  16.  Olesia Shaiduk (University Of California, Berkeley)

  17.  Eyal Miller (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Program of the session